Another World Nationals is in the books at the Marshalltown Speedway. Night three was completed on Saturday night and it was Jake Murray, Hartford, Iowa, taking home the Modified win, $10,000, and an impressive Championship belt, winning the prestigious World Nationals title for a second time. Murray started 17th on the starting line up and took the lead just before the halfway mark of the 50-lap race. Mike Mullen, the driver out of Suamico, Wisconsin, started fourteenth and finished as the runner up. He had to make up a lot of ground after slipping off the track earlier, and restarting in the rear. Marcus Yarie, Wausau, Wisconsin, came from twenty-second place, and finished in third. Fourth went to pole sitter, Terry Phillips, Beatrice, Nebraska, and Green Bay, Wisconsin racer, Benji Lacrosse, qualified through a last chance race, started in twenty-fourth spot, and finished fifth. Jake Murray also won the World Nationals back in 2013.

Damon Murty claimed his second $1,000 win in as many nights in the Stock Car class. Murty led all but the first of the 25-lap feature to seal the victory. Mike Nichols came from twelfth starting spot, to chase Murty for much of the race, but had to settle for second place. New London, Iowa’s Jeff Mueller came from fourteenth, to finish third, fourth went to Oconto Falls, Wisconsin racer, Joe White who started twentieth, and Kyle Vanover, Beatrice, Nebraska, completed the top five.

The 25-lap SportMod feature found Jared Boumeester from Waseca, Minnesota taking home the $1,000 prize. Boumeester found his way to the lead by lap ten and never looked back on his way to the checkers. Friday night’s winner Clint Luellen, finished in the runner up spot, third went to Eric Flander, Pella, Iowa, fourth was eighth place starter Curtis Van Der Wal, Oskaloosa, Iowa, and Adam Armstrong started fourteenth, and finished fifth.

The 25-lap Hobby Stock feature had a strange turn of events at the finish line. Dustin Graham discovered it is good to be in the right place, at the right time after finding himself standing in victory lane. Graham was running third to Eric Stanton and Shannon Anderson as they came out of turn four looking at the checkers. The two lead cars became entangled as they neared the flag stand, and Graham saw his opportunity and scooted across the finish line in first place. Stanton was credited with second, third went to Justin Wacha, fourth to Calvin Dhondt, and Gary Pfantz was fifth.

Marshalltown Speedway now closes it’s doors on another successful season of racing until next April.