The Marshalltown Speedway saw a nice crowd on Friday night witness 124 race cars vying for a chance at a win. The IMCA Late Models joined the regular five classes, and it was Luke Goedert taking home the hardware. Jacob Murray made it two in a row in the IMCA Modifieds, as did Eric Stanton in the Hobby Stocks. Damon Murty claimed another win in the IMCA Stock Cars, Josh May got back to his winning ways in the Mod Lite division, and a new face graced victory lane in the IMCA Northern SportMod class as Matt Petrzelka took the win.

A nice field of 20 IMCA Late Models came to try their hand at the High Banks of Marshalltown Speedway. It was Marshalltown’s own Darrel DeFrance leaping to the immediate lead in the 25-lap A feature. DeFrance paced the field until lap ten when seventh place starter Luke Goedert took command. Goedert lost the lead briefly to DeFrance at lap seventeen, but regained it quickly, and kept it to the checkers. DeFrance finished as the runner up, third went to Jeff Aikey, who had started tenth, fourth was Charlie McKenna, and eighth place starter, Ben Seeman, was fifth.

Jenae Gustin led much of the 20-lap feature for the IMCA Modifieds. A yellow came out at lap twelve with Gustin still in charge, and when the race restarted, it was brother Jimmy Gustin making the charge on the outside for the lead as they entered turn one. It was a scary moment when he shot straight off of turn one, unable to turn, and the race was halted once more. Thankfully, he soon emerged from turn two, but drove it directly to the trailer. When the race got back underway, Jenae Gustin was still captain of the ship, but now had company in Jacob Murray. Murray, who had started ninth, was flying on the topside. He was able to use that topside momentum to take the lead with just three laps remaining, and went on to take the win. Gustin had to be content with second, third went to eighth place starter, Ronn Lauritzen, fourth was Tim Ward, who started eleventh, and Racer Hulin came from seventh starting spot, to round out the top five. Murray repeated his win from last week, and took his fourth victory at the Speedway this season.

Damon Murty took home another feature win in the IMCA Stock Car class. Murty had to run down Jay Schmidt, the early leader, passed him, and then pulled away from the entire field to take the win by more than a straightaway. Justin Temeyer came from twelfth, to finish second. Point leader, Donavon Smith started ninth and finished third, Jay Schmidt was fourth and Steve Meyer completed the top five. Murty, who started tenth, snapped up win number three on the season.

The winner of the 15-lap IMCA Hobby Stock feature was determined in the closing moments when Eric Stanton was able to make the pass on Gene Nicklas with a lap to go. The field was bunched when a caution flew at lap thirteen with Nicklas leading and Stanton giving chase in second. That yellow proved to be the game changer, as Stanton flew to the lead as the race returned to green. He was able to hold off Nicklas at the checkers to take the win—Nicklas finishing second. Leah Wroten finished third, fourth was veteran Bill Bonnett who had started twelfth, and visiting Ray Stock, Jr. came all the way from nineteenth, to finish fifth. Stanton took back to back wins, and this was his ninth win over all, his only loss being to Nicklas.

Josh May took home the win in the Mod Lite feature. May started fifth, had the lead at lap one, and would lead all laps on the way to his victory. Finishing a distant second was seventh place starter, Mike Morrill, Cory Sauerman raced from ninth starting spot to finish third, Joel Huggins finished fourth and Joe Glick, was fifth. This was May’s first win at Marshalltown this year.

Racing continues at the Marshalltown Speedway next Friday night, when the green flag drops at 7:30.