After Mother Nature ruined last week’s racing at the Marshalltown Speedway, a great field of cars was eager for racing last evening. It was Cliff Chambers Memorial Night, with all five regular classes competing, along with the Nostalgia cars of yesteryear.

Jacob Murray put his new car to the test on Friday night, and at the end of the night, had it sitting in Victory Lane. Murray won the 20-lap IMCA Modified feature, out running 26 other contenders. Murray started on the pole and led the entire race, maneuvering the slicked up track to take the win. Kyle Brown came from eighth starting spot to finish in second, just ahead of Ricky Thornton, Jr. in third. Racer Hulin finished fourth and Tim Ward rounded out the top five.

Trent Murphy put his ride into the winner’s circle in the 20-lap IMCA Stock Car feature. Murphy came from the fourth row and took a comfortable win over runner up Tyler Pickett. A close third was tenth place starter, Donavon Smith, Steve Meyer came from eleventh to finish fourth and veteran Jeff Wollam had a good run to take fifth.

Eric Stanton went home with his third win in a row at the speedway, in the IMCA Hobby Stock class. Stanton took the lead on lap one, and never looked back. He finished comfortably ahead of second place finisher, Tyson Overton, who battled by third place Leah Wroten in the closing laps. Fourth went to Dustin Graham and Gene Nicklas was fifth.

A marathon IMCA Northern SportMod feature ended with Jared VanDeest taking his second win of the season. VanDeest was twelfth in the starting line up, pestered early leader Joey Schaefer for several laps, and took over the top spot by lap nine. He kept the top spot, as the yellow/checkers flew to end the race. Cory Rose came from eighth starting spot to finish as the runner up, and Curt Hilmer was third. Jake McBirnie had to tag the field after an incident at the beginning of the race, and flew through the field to finish fourth. Joey Schaefer completed the top five.

Joe Glick led the entire Mod Lite feature to capture his first ever win at the Marshalltown Speedway. Randy Bryan chased Glick most of the race and finished as the runner up. Charlie Brown, Josh May and Mike Morrill rounded out the top five.

Racing continues next Friday night. Hot laps are 7 p.m. and racing at 7:30.