Marshalltown, IA 4-15-2016 – Marshalltown Speedway got their season opening point’s night kicked off on Friday. There was a good field of cars on hand to enjoy the exciting racing action.

The Mod Lite feature went to Randy Bryan. He took command at lap three and never looked back, taking the victory by a comfortable margin over second place Mike Morrill. A close third was Eric Turner, Joe Glick was fourth and Justin Rankin was scored fifth.

In the IMCA Northern SportMod 20-lap A main, it was a shoot out to the finish. Sam Wieben led the early laps with Jared VanDeest in tow. VanDeest was able to get around Wieben and was leading when a caution flew at lap twelve, with Sam Wieben, Randy Roberts, Clint Luellen and brother, Austin Luellen close at hand. VanDeest kept his steady ride at the top of the track, and was able to hold off the challengers for the win. Close behind in second was Randy Roberts, last week’s Frostbuster winner. Austin Luellen took third, Sam Wieben was right behind in fourth and Clint Luellen a close fifth.

Eric Stanton took the honors in winning the IMCA Hobby Stock 15-lap event. Stanton started on the pole and led all laps on his way to the win. Nathan Ballard finished as the runner up, chasing Stanton the entire race. Tim Barber, Gary Pfantz, and eleventh place starter, Gene Nicklas completed the top five.

The Class too Tough to Tame, the IMCA Stock Cars put on their usual exciting race. Steve Meyer jumped to the immediate lead from his outside front row starting spot, but had all he could handle in keeping the pack at bay. Devin Smith challenged the leader in the early laps of the 20-lap feature, while Tyler Pickett challenged him on the low side. Meyer was able to fend off the advances however, and took the checkers. Devin Smith wrangled a second place finish away from Tyler Pickett in third, Donavon Smith came from fourteenth starting spot to finish fourth and twelfth place starter Trent Murphy, rounded out the top five.

Thirty-one IMCA Modifieds were on hand for the $1,000 to win 25-lap contest. Joel Rust, the recipient of the lucky redraw, started on the pole. Rust would hang on tight to that top spot through the first fourteen laps when a caution came out, and he saw his lead disappear. By this time, Brian Irvine had made it into second place and he applied the pressure when the race restarted. Rust and Irvine raced closely the remaining laps, sometimes swapping leads, but it was Irvine taking final command and sweeping home to a victory. Third place went to Rick Ward, eleventh place starter Kyle Brown was fourth and Jimmy Gustin finished in fifth from starting twelfth.

Racing continues next Friday night at the Marshalltown Speedway, with hot laps at 7 and racing at 7:30.