Marshalltown, Iowa (August 7th, 2015) – Friday Night was a picture perfect night at the Marshalltown Speedway sponsored by J & V Napa Auto Parts. 70 cars checked in to tame the high banks.

Joel Rust (IMCA Modifieds) takes his first at Marshalltown. Donavon Smith (IMCA Stock Cars), Jared Van Deest (IMCA Northern SportMods), Eric Stanton (IMCA Hobby Stocks) and Josh May (Mod Lites) make return visits to victory lane.

Justin Rankin grabbed the lead on lap one of the 15 lap Mod Lite feature but Joe Glick took the lead away on lap two just before a caution for Travis Stensland and Rankin getting together in turn four. With Glick out front the caution came out again on lap four, this time for Joel Huggins in turn two. Glick led until lap eight when Josh May worked his way by to take the lead. May when on to take his Career 100th win in the Mod Lites, the night before his wedding. Charlie Brown finished second, Glick was third, Mike Kennedy was fourth and Jason Whitehead was fifth.

Tom Rawlins and Scott Williams led the field to the green in the 18 lap IMCA Northern SportMod feature but by the end of lap one, Curt Hilmer found himself out front. Hilmer saw Brandon Williams and Sam Wieben right behind him when the caution came out on lap three. Wieben was able to make the pass for the lead on lap five. Wieben saw Jared Van Deest work his way to second on lap six. Wieben and Van Deest battled for the lead and it was Van Deest taking the lead away on lap 11. Van Deest went on to take his 5th of the season at Motown ahead of Wieben, Brandon Williams, Travis Peterson and Jake McBirnie.

Before the completion of lap one the caution came out when Justin Lovig went off the back-stretch in the Toby K’s Hideaway IMCA Hobby Stocks feature. Tim Barber took the lead on the restart but on lap four, Eugene Nicklas took the lead away. Nicklas continued to lead until Eric Stanton made the move and took the top spot away on lap ten. Stanton went on to take win number five. Last Week’s Winner Garrett Eilander finished second, Nicklas came home third, Barber fell back to fourth and Gary Pfantz was fifth.

Nick Thelen wrestled the lead away from Russell Damme Jr in the Miller Lite IMCA Stock Cars 18 lap feature. Thelen saw Tyler Pickett take the lead away on lap four just before a caution flag. Pickett saw Donavon Smith take the lead away on lap six but Todd Reitzler followed suit and took it away from Smith. Reitzler saw the caution come when Kevin Balmer came to a stop in turn two. Reitzler held off Smith until lap 14 when Smith took the lead back. Smith took the win ahead of Todd Reitzler, Steve Meyer, Tyler Pickett and Robbie Merkle.

Final feature of the night was the Coors Light IMCA Modifieds 20 lap feature and it was Brandon Leeman leading lap one. Rod Clement grabbed the lead on lap two but Jake Strayer took it away on lap three. Strayer looked comfortable out front but Joel Rust was working the top side of the season and worked his way up to take the lead away on lap 16. Strayer powered back on lap 17 but Rust did not give up as he took the lead back with two laps to go. Rust went on take his first win at Marshalltown. Strayer, Scott Simatovich, Leeman and Trent Jackson round out the top five.

Next Friday Night is one of the long await nights at the Marshalltown Speedway as the IMCA Late Models return to the high banks for a night of weekly racing awarding State and National Points. Night will be sponsored by the Central Iowa Snowmobile Club. Hot Laps at 6:45pm and Racing at 7:30pm. Grandstands will be $10 for Adults, $8 for Seniors (65+) with Children 10 and Under are Free. Pit Pass is $22.

Late Models will also return on Friday August 21st at Marshalltown.

For additional information and to follow the season at the Marshalltown Speedway, log on at:, or follow Marshalltown Speedway on Facebook and Twitter, or call the speedway office at 515-231-5444.

Marshalltown Speedway Results
J & V Napa Auto Parts Night
August 7th, 2015

Coors Light IMCA Modifieds
– 1. 26J Joel Rust (Grundy Center); 2. 18J Jake Strayer (Newton); 3. 43S Scott Simatovich (State Center); 4. 64ZC Brandon Leeman (Roland); 5. 12X Trent Jackson (Marshalltown); 6. 19 Jimmy Gustin (Marshalltown); 7. 9E Eric Elliott (Boone); 8. 40RC Rod Clement (Rhodes); 9. 10K Ronn Lauritzen (Jesup); 10. 83G Josh Gilman (Earlham); 11. 3W Chris Webb (McCallsburg); 12. 5G Gatlin Leytham (Garwin); 13. 74S Chris Sieweke (Sandarosa, CA); 14. 81 Jesse Belez (Marengo)

Heat 1 – 1. Jackson; 2. Laurtizen; 3. Rust; 4. Clement; 5. Leeman; 6. Webb; 7. Gustin
Heat 2 – 1. Elliott; 2. Strayer; 3. Gilman; 4. Leytham; 5. Simatovich; 6. Belez; 7. Sieweke

Miller Lite IMCA Stock Cars
– 1. 35 Donavon Smith (Lake City); 2. 22R Todd Reitzler (Grinnell); 3. 94 Steve Meyer (Grundy Center); 4. 5A Tyler Pickett (Boxholm); 5. 54 Robbie Merkle (Des Moines); 6. 3W Jeff Wollam (Marshalltown); 7. 4JR Russell Damme Jr (Waterloo); 8. 6 Travis Shipman (Mason City); 9. 16 Nick Thelen (Kellogg); 10. 47D Darin Dezwarte (Knoxville); 11. 45 Matt Deaton (Newton); 12. 93 Michael Jaennette (Newton); 13. 42 Doug Russell (Conrad); 14. 50X Kevin Balmer (Garwin); DNS/15. 19J Jay Schmidt (Tama)

Heat 1
– 1. Wollam; 2. Meyer; 3. Smith; 4. Damme; 5. Thelen; 6. Russell; 7. Schmidt; 8. Shipman
Heat 2 – 1. Reitzler; 2. Jaennette; 3. Merkle; 4. Deaton; 5. Pickett; 6. Dezwarte; 7. Balmer

Karl Chevrolet IMCA Northern SportMods
– 1. 80J Jared Van Deest (Holland); 2. 198 Sam Wieben (Dysart); 3. 67X Brandon Williams (Des Moines); 4. 25 Travis Peterson (Gladbrook); 5. 82 Jake McBirnie (Boone); 6. T23 Tony Olson (Cedar Rapids); 7. 36A Andy Edwards (Parkersburg); 8. 777 Jayme Duinink (Pella); 9. 32N Neil Follett (Conrad); 10. 9 Scott Williams (Atkins); 11. 16 Austin Schuring (Newton); 12. 7V Jesse Vander Wal (McCallsburg); 13. 8 Dusty Masolini (Des Moines); 14. 11 Ethan Braaksma (Newton); 15. 22H Curt Hilmer (Dysart); 16. T17 Tom Rawlins (Kellogg); DNS/17. 57R Ryan King (Montour); DNS/18. 98 Bill Hildreth (Marshalltown)

Heat 1 – 1. Hilmer; 2. Wieben; 3. Rawlins; 4. Scott Williams; 5. Masolini; 6. Follett
Heat 2 – 1. McBirnie; 2. Edwards; 3. King; 4. Peterson; 5. Schuring; 6. Hildreth
Heat 3 – 1. Olson; 2. Van Deest; 3. Brandon Williams; 4. Duinink; 5. Braaksma; 6. Vander Wal

Toby K’s Hideaway IMCA Hobby Stocks
– 1. 7B Eric Stanton (Carlisle); 2. 500 Garrett Eilander (Newton); 3. 83 Eugene Nicklas (Grinnell); 4. T56 Tim Barber (Story City); 5. 4X Gary Pfantz (State Center); 6. 19 Nathan Gibson (Maynard); 7. 7M Matt Tiernan (Stuart); 8. 42Z Brandon Pitts (Ames); 9. 85M Dillon Million (Marshalltown); 10. 91 Ronald Randall Jr (Grundy Center); 11. 17 Andy Peck (Newton); 12. 3X Justin Lovig (Clemons)

Heat 1 – 1. Pfantz; 2. Eilander; 3. Tiernan; 4. Million; 5. Gibson; 6. Peck
Heat 2 – 1. Stanton; 2. Barber; 3. Nicklas; 4. Lovig; 5. Randall; 6. Pitts

Mod Lites
– 1. 99 Josh May (DeSoto); 2. 82 Charlie Brown (Nevada); 3. 3G Joe Glick (Des Moines); 4. 95 Mike Kennedy (Boone); 5. 11R Jason Whitehead (Nevada); 6. 88 Justin Rankin (Madrid); 7. DC5 Tim Gannon (Des Moines); 8. 4M David Simpson (Ankeny); 9. 64X Josh Bryan (Ames); 10. X50 Joel Huggins (Des Moines); 11. 89 Travis Stensland (Nevada)

Heat 1 – 1. Stensland; 2. Huggins; 3. Glick; 4. Simpson; 5. Bryan; 6. Gannon
Heat 2 – 1. May; 2. Brown; 3. Whitehead; 4. Kennedy; 5. Rankin